Administration of RFNC-VNIITF

Created on Tuesday, 18 June 2013 10:25


Mikhail E. Zheleznov

Born on June 15, 1957 in Dzerzhnisk.

Candidate (Ph.D.) of Economics (2001). Honoured Economist of the Russian Federation (2002).

Graduated from Moscow Engineering Physics Institute (MEPhI), majoring in “Technology of mechanical engineering, metal-cutting equipment and tools” in 1984 and Ural Polytechnical Institute, majoring in “Economics and industrial engineering” in 1988.

In 1976-2005 worked at RFNC – VNIITF as assistant engineer, pressman, foreman, senior foreman, process engineer, deputy head of department, Director assistant of finance and labor relations, Deputy Director of RFNC – VNIITF for finance and economics.

In 2005 – 2012 was elected a Major of Snezhinsk.

Since April 23, 2012 served as the First Deputy Director of RFNC – VNIITF.

Since June 1, 2013 worked as Acting  Director of RFNC – VNIITF.

Since October 30, 2012 Mikhail Zheleznov has been Director of RFNC – VNIITF.

Awards: Order of Friendship, award badge “Academician I. V. Kurchatov” (II degree).

Scientific Director

Georgy N. Rykovanov

Born on February 9, 1954 in Vologda.

Physicist-Theoretician involved in nuclear weapons development, Doctor of Physics and Mathematics (1998), Corresponding Member of Russian Academy of Sciences (2003), Member of Russian Academy of Sciences (since 2011).

In 1977, G.N. Rykovanov graduated from Moscow Engineering Physical Institute (MEPhI) and began his career at All-Union Research Institute for Instrumentation development (currently Federal State Unitary Enterprise "Russian Federal Nuclear Center - Zababakhin All-Russia Research Institute of Technical Physics", hereinafter RFNC-VNIITF).

In 1995, Georgy N. Rykovanov was appointed a Head of Theoretical Division, and in 1996 promoted to Deputy Research Director - Head of Theoretical Division. He became the First Deputy Director - First Deputy Research Director - Head of Theoretical Division in 1998. Later that year he was appointed RFNC-VNIITF Director. In 2007 – 2012 he served as RFNC-VNIITF Director and Research Director.

Research interests include hydrodynamic phenomena, theory of turbulence, detonation theory, thermonuclear fusion physics, and extreme states of materials. He is the author of the well-known empirical model of kinetics for low-sensitive explosives detonation. He contributed to the development of nuclear devices up to the stage of their serial production and these nuclear weapons are still operational in the Russian Army.

G. N. Rykovanov is a co-author of numerous scientific publications. He was RF State Prize winner in 2002 and 2009. He was also awarded the Order of the Badge of Honor in 1985, the Order for Services to Homeland (IV degree) in 2005, and the Badge of Honor for Services to Chelyabinsk Region in 2004, award badge “Academician I. V. Kurchatov” (I degree) in 2008, medal “Honors for emergency response”.

Emeritus Scientific Director


Born on July 11, 1932 in Leningrad.

Member of Russian Academy of Sciences, Honorary citizen of Snezhinsk since 1997.

After graduation from Moscow State University in 1954, he began his career at Design Bureau –11 (currently RFNC-VNIIEF) and during one-year period of his work there he participated in the development of the first Soviet two-stage thermonuclear device.

In 1955, E.N. Avrorin moved to a newly formed second Soviet Nuclear Weapons Center, i.e. Research Institute-1011 (currently RFNC-VNIITF) where he demonstrated his talents as researcher and administrator.

In 1957 E. N. Avrorin was responsible for research activities during the first Soviet nuclear explosion designed for experimental purposes that gave important data on the processes under extreme conditions. His Ph.D. thesis was based on that experiment results. Many fields of research initiated within that experiment were successfully developed further by VNIITF and E. N. Avrorin's contribution was significant.

Since 1964, E.N. Avrorin was the Head of Theoretical Physics Department; since 1974 – the Head of Theoretical Physics Division and in 1985 he was appointed VNIITF Scientific Director. December 1996 through December 1998, he served as VNIITF Scientific Director and VNIITF Director at a time.

In 1961- 1962, several key experts of VNIITF including E.N. Avrorin became Lenin prize winners for achievements in thermonuclear weapon development.

Since early 1960s, Evgeny Nikolayevich was involved in the development of nuclear charges for civil applications. For this effort he was awarded with the title of "Hero of Socialist Labor" in 1966.

For contribution to the development and improvement of nuclear weapons, E. N. Avrorin was awarded the Order of the Red Banner of Labor in 1956, the Order of Lenin in 1987, and the Order for Services to Homeland, III degree in 1999 and II degree in 2006. In 1999, he became V.P. Makeev prize winner. In 2012 he was awarded the Demidov Prize.

He was a deputy in Snezhinsk City Council from 1968 to 1973 and in Chelyabinsk Regional Council from 1973 to 1977.